Celebrate Women’s History Month

Women’s History Month is celebrated every March in the United States. The celebration began as “Women’s History Week” in California in the late 1970’s (to include International Women’s Day, March 8th) before Congress was petitioned to expand it to national status in 1981. Congress later expanded it to be a month-long celebration, and National Women’s History Month began in 1987.

Display_WomensHistory1
Women’s History Month display, 1st floor

We have assembled a display case to celebrate Women’s History Month, which can be seen as you enter the west entrance on the first floor of the library. The display is comprised of materials from our collection related to prominent women throughout history, including, but not limited to, works by significant female authors. Eleanor of Aquitaine, Joan of Arc, prominent Texas women, and Eleanor Roosevelt are just a few of the historical figures represented. Works by Dr. Maya Angelou, and recent memoirs such as I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai are just a few of the female-authored materials showcased herein.

Display_WomensHistory4 Display_WomensHistory3

Come check it out while you have the opportunity!


References and Further Reading

Library of Congress

Women’s History Month Resources on Infoplease

Celebrate Women’s History Month

2 thoughts on “Celebrate Women’s History Month

  1. Alexandra says:

    I love the Fashions and Accessories 1880-1900 poster behind the display. Could you tell me more about it? Is it a copy of a book or magazine cover?

    Like

    1. Alexandra, I love it too! The poster is from the Arizona Historical Society in Tucson, Arizona. I visited there when I was working on my Master’s Degree at the University of Arizona in Tucson. They had a lovely exhibit showing fashions of the era. It is fascinating to me to see the intricate details and craftsmanship of sewing that was achieved in history. My favourite time in history is anything before 1910. I particular love the “Gibson Girl” fashion craze of the 1890’s. I purchased the poster because of the beautiful elegance of the fashion and to remember my visit to the Historical Society. This is their link http://www.arizonahistoricalsociety.org/. You might look on their website or contact them to see if they have any older posters they would be selling.

      Lisa

      Like

Leave a comment